You are here

Requests for Transcipts / Audio Recordings

 

 TRANSCRIPT REQUESTS

The court uses a combination of court reporters and Electronic Court Recorder Operators (ECROs) to record its proceedings.  The order and docket text related to each proceeding should reflect how it was recorded and should include the name of the relevant court reporter or ECRO. 

Requests for transcripts, whether for a proceeding reported by a court reporter or recorded by an ECRO, should be submitted to the Court using a Transcript Order Form .  How those forms should be submitted to the Court depends on how the order will be paid for and who is placing the order.

Orders for transcripts to be paid for with Criminal Justice Act (“CJA”) funds must be submitted using the Court’s eVoucher system with the form found here. All other transcript orders must be e-mailed or mailed to the points of contact specified below.

 

Transcript Request for Court Reporter Recorded Proceedings

If you would like to order a transcript and the proceeding was recorded by a court reporter, please contact the relevant court reporter directly as follows:
 

April Dowell - april_dowell@kywd.uscourts.gov
Dena Legg - dena_legg@kywd.uscourts.gov
Terri Turner - terri_turner@kywd.uscourts.gov

Transcript Request for ECRO-Recorded or Digitally Recorded Proceedings
 

If you would like to order a transcript and the proceeding was recorded by an ECRO or was digitally recorded, please contact James Vilt at james_vilt@kywd.uscourts.gov.
 

Parties must understand their responsibility to request redaction of personal identifying information from transcripts that will be filed and made available to the public through the Court's CM/ECF system.  For guidance on the judiciary's redaction policy, please review the information available here.
Transcript rates are available here.

 

AUDIO RECORDING REQUESTS

A request for a compact disc (CD) containing an audio recording of a proceeding that was digitally recorded can be purchased at a cost of $31.00 for each hearing requested. All requests must be submitted by way of a “Request for Compact Disc (CD) of Audio Recording of Court Proceeding.” A separate request form must be completed for each hearing requested.

The completed form must be submitted at any clerk’s office location or by U.S. mail or email to the relevant ECRO as follows:

Megan Jackson - megan_jackson@kywd.uscourts.gov
Daniel Tierney - daniel_tierney@kywd.uscourts.gov
Jessica Mercer - jessica_mercer@kywd.uscourts.gov

If the proceeding was digitally recorded and an individual ECRO is not listed, please contact the main number of the divisional office in which the proceeding occurred for further instructions.

A CD of audio recordings will be available within two business days following receipt of the request. The clerk’s office will contact you when the CD is ready for pickup. The CD will not be released to the ordering party until payment is made